As JWU nears the century mark, share in our enthusiasm and pride as we recount our university’s
rich and vibrant history.
In 1970, Johnson & Wales Junior College of Business became
Johnson & Wales College. Since 1947, co-directors
Edward Triangolo ’80 Hon. and Morris Gaebe ’98 Hon.
had nurtured a small secretarial school into a junior college
and then a college. The new partnership of President Gaebe
and Vice President John Yena ’06 Hon. promised more
Accessible, affordable higher education was critical even
then. In 1970, the two-year Veterans Introductory Program
(VIP) allowed returning servicemen and women to round out
their educations while holding jobs, opening doors for many
who’d never dreamed of going to college.
Beginning in 1971, a four-day class week was instituted so
students could study while offsetting tuition with part-time
jobs. “Weekend College” was initiated. Originally envisioned
for enrichment, by 1972 weekend enrollment had grown to
800 and was expanded to meet the needs of nontraditional
students seeking degrees.
With the 1972 reauthorization of the Higher Education
Act, Congress expanded federal aid programs and created
Pell grants. Full-time enrollment at Johnson & Wales reached
3,500. More students began living on campus and Wildcats
teams gained recognition across New England
Amidst all the growth and changes, students gravitated to
programs that positioned them for career success.
Image: Officers of the corporation in 1972, left to right, Chairman Edward Triangolo; assistant secretary
Severina Troiano ’48, ’79 Hon.; President Morris Gaebe; Vice President