re connect

re connect

Success Boards Honor Outstanding Alumni
Re:Connect 230x160

A Success Board is one of the highest honors that Johnson & Wales presents to its alumni. Each year, JWU faculty and staff select one alumnus or alumna from each college at each campus whose professional accomplishments stand out from those of their peers.

Those chosen for this recognition are asked to participate in Alumni Leaders Week, which involves speaking with students and giving classroom presentations. A formal reception is held during this week, at which Success Boards are presented by faculty to honorees in front of their families, faculty and staff.

The award itself is a personalized, visual representation of the recipient’s achievements. Featuring a biography, photographs, certificates and other accolades, it is a trophy like no other. Three copies of each Success Board are made: one for the recipient to keep, one to be hung outside the office of the president of the campus closest to where the recipient lives, and one to be displayed in the college from which the recipient graduated. The boards remain on display for a year, inspiring current students and impressing visitors.

image top: l-r: Richard Badgley ’90, ’92 MS, Katy Sparks ’86, Laura Greenstein ’04 EdD; Heather Jenners ’98, ’06 MBA, Robert Falcone ’06 and Pablo Cabrera ’02, ’08 MBA.

2011 success board recipients

Richard Badgley ’90, ’92 MS
Senior Vice President of Selection Staffing and University Relations Wyndham Worldwide

Pablo Cabrera ’02, ’08 MBA
Cash Manager FM Global

Robert Falcone ’06
Security Intelligence Engineer VeriSign iDefense

Laura Greenstein ’04 EdD
Teacher and Chair, Art and Vocational Department Montville High School

Heather Jenners ’98, ’06 MBA
Senior Human Resources Manager Kraft Foods North America

Katy Sparks ’86
Owner Katy Sparks Culinary Consulting

North Miami
Michelle Bernstein ’94, ’03 Hon
Restaurateur, Television Personality and Author

Brian Foye ’85, ’88 MS
Senior Vice President of Operations The Capital Grille

Theodore Heyliger ’93
Deputy Prime Minister St. Maarten

Kathleen Kenny Davia ’94
Owner Gateaux Pastries

Brian Lenfestey ’96
General Manager Denver Marriott South at Park Meadows

Lisa Cotter ’93
Owner Doctors Express

Dana Herbert ’00
Owner Desserts by Dana

Carolyn Lisa ’74
Owner/President IMT Associates Inc.